# 2016 Florida Future Problem Solving Program State Competition Results

A total of **67 awards** were presented in individual and team competitions to Flagler County students at the 2015 FPS State Competition in Orlando on Saturday, April 2nd. Out of these 67 category winners, seventeen (17) International Conference invitations were announced. This gives Flagler Schools a total of 58 students that have been invited to International Conference this summer at Michigan State University!

Overall, Flagler students were awarded:

1 State Scholarship Recipients

1 International Scholarship Runner-up

17 International Conference Invitations

2 Grand Champion Awards

Here is a summary of the awards granted for each competition:

## **Community Problem Solving**

4 individual awards (4 International Conference Invites)

11 team awards (2 Grand Champions & 6 International Conf. Invites)

# **Global Issues Problem Solving Teams:**

5 team awards (4 International Conference Invites)

# **Global Issues Problem Solving Individuals:**

5 awards (1 International Conference Invite)

#### **Global Issues Skits-Teams:**

7 team awards

## **Individual Scenario Writing:**

4 awards (2 International Conference Invites)

## **Group Scenario Writing:**

16 awards and 1 overall best writer award

## **Multi-School Global Issues Writing:**

12 awards

## **Scenario Performance (New Category):**

2 awards (2 International Conference Invites)

Below please find a detailed breakdown of the category winners and team members:

## Florida FPS State Scholarship Recipient:

• Savannah Umpenhour (FPC)

## **FPSPI International Scholarship Runner-up:**

• Savannah Umpenhour (FPC)

# **Multi-School Global Issues Writing:**

#### **Junior Division**

3<sup>rd</sup> - Daniel Wolcott (BES)

#### **Middle Division**

3<sup>rd</sup> – Ellis Valladares (FPC)

2<sup>nd</sup> - Ashley Smith (FPC)

1<sup>st</sup> – Daniella Sbordone (FPC)

#### **Senior Division**

3<sup>rd</sup> – Saige Brey (FPC)

3<sup>rd</sup> - Zaria George (FPC)

3<sup>rd</sup> - Max Romero (FPC)

3<sup>rd</sup> - Guillermo Soto (MHS)

2<sup>nd</sup> – Kayla Dance (FPC)

2<sup>nd</sup> - Kylie Miller (FPC)

1<sup>st</sup> – Amberly Dong (FPC)

1<sup>st</sup> - Rida Muneer (FPC)

# **Individual Scenario Writing:**

#### **Junior Division**

8<sup>th</sup> - Paul Grau (BES)

#### **Middle Division**

3<sup>rd</sup> – Daniella Sbordone (FPC)

#### **Senior Division**

2<sup>nd</sup> – Bayley Steinwehr (FPC) \*\* Invited to Internationals

1<sup>st</sup> – Zaria George (FPC) \*\* Invited to Internationals

## **Group Scenario Writing:**

#### **Junior Division**

6<sup>th</sup> – Paul Grau (BES)

5th - William St. Peter and Jermaine Bucknor (BES)

4th - Abbigail Carver and William Vierengel (BES)

3rd - Michael Mwaura (BES)

2nd - Karissa Jackson (BES)

1st - Hope Bodin and Hope Romaine (BES)

#### **Middle Division**

2<sup>nd</sup> - Amy Raleigh (FPC)

1<sup>st</sup> – Daniella Sbordone (FPC)

Best Writer: Daniella Sbordone (FPC)

#### Senior Division

2<sup>nd</sup> – Katya Martynuk (FPC)

2<sup>nd</sup> - Trey deLeon (FPC)

2<sup>nd</sup> – Teptida Battebhouse (MHS)

1<sup>st</sup> – Zaria George (FPC)

1<sup>st</sup> - Hannah Umpenhour (FPC)

# **Team Community Problem Solvers:**

Junior Division -

## **Human & Environment Category:**

2nd - Beachy Clean (BES)

Patrick White

**Abby Carver** 

Michael Mwaura

Hope Bodin

Matthew Brunell

## 1st -Animal Assisters (BES) - \*\*Invited to Internationals

Kenny Logan

William Vierengel

William St. Peter

Margaret D'Elia

Gabe Daboussi

Dylan Long

Paul Grau

## Health, Civics & Education Category:

# 2<sup>nd</sup> – R.A.P – Reading And Athletics (Rymfire)

Nicholas Blumengarten

Aaron Cope

Nathaniel Gasparini

**Landon Gonzales** 

Tim King

Victoria Ganung

Jesse Doolin

**Hunter Becker** 

## **1st - HOPE** (BES) \*\*Invited to Internationals

Karissa Jackson

Hope Romaine

**Christina Courson** 

Carmella Sweeney

Isabella Miller

## Grand Champion - Project G.R.E.E.N. (BES) \*\*Invited to Internationals

Sean Gilliam

Madelynn Oliva

**Danny Wilcott** 

Jermaine Bucknor

Jackson McMillan

#### **Middle Division**

## 1<sup>st</sup> – **Street Talk** (FPC) \*\*Invitation to Internationals

Michael Pierre

Sarah Main

Gianna Labarbera

David McErlane

**Brian Cote** 

#### Senior Division -

## **Health & Human Category**

## 2<sup>nd</sup> – Pause4Paws (FPC)

Kayla Colandrea

Janine Jao

Rida Muneer

Nicolle Perilli

Mia Scarcella

## 1<sup>st</sup> – **Good ol' Days** (FPC) \*\*Invited to Internationals

Saige Brey

Allie Marino

**Aaron Carll** 

**Andrew Secunda** 

Diego Valdessarri

Zachary Verdi

Max romero

Hannah Williams

**Ernest Ardon** 

Julietta Martinez

## **Education & Civic Category**

# 2<sup>nd</sup> – **Team P.O.V.** (FPC)

**Amberly Dong** 

Zaria George

Jessica Middleton

Sarah Tamayo

Alexandra Feldman

# 1<sup>st</sup> - Teens for Safe Driving (FPC)

Michael Brown

**Ashton Craig** 

Ayden Craig

Isabel Vigil

Jessica Wilcox

# **Grand Champion – Project LINK** (FPC) \*\*Invited to Internationals

Kayla Dance

Sarah Dance

**Judy Colindres** 

Vashti Malvoisin

Ivana Moore

#### **Individual CmPS:**

#### **Junior Division**

1<sup>st</sup> – **HEALTH** - Isabella Colindres (BES) \*\*Invited to Internationals

2nd - Individual Booklet - Carmella Sweeney (BES) \*\*Invited to Internationals

#### **Middle Division**

 $2^{nd}$  – **Project InterLACE** – Katya Martynuk (FPC) \*\*Invited to Internationals

1<sup>st</sup> – **Keep Hope Afloat** – Brielle Goldberg (FPC) \*\*Invited to Internationals

# **Team GIPS (Global Issues Problem Solving):**

#### **Junior Division**

# 4<sup>th</sup> – Bunnell Elementary Team A

Isabella Colindres

Sean Gilliam

Madelynn Oliva

Paul Grau

# 1<sup>st</sup> – Bunnell Elementary Team C - \*\*Invited to Internationals

Kenny Logan

Karissa Jackson

Hope Romaine

Michael Mwaura

#### **Middle Division**

2<sup>nd</sup> – **FPC Team C** - \*\*Invited to Internationals

Sarah Main

Gianna Labarbera

David McErlane

Michael Pierre

#### **Senior Division**

2<sup>nd</sup> – **FPC Team F** - \*\*Invited to Internationals

McKenzie Smith

Jada Bourke

Ally Erickson

Zoe Wolfe

## 1<sup>st</sup> – **FPC Team C** - \*\*Invited to Internationals

Anna Buss

Nina Jones

Anna Walls

Elizabeth Mason

# **Individual GIPS (Global Issues Problem Solving)**

#### **Junior Division**

2<sup>nd</sup> – Carmella Sweeny (BES)

#### **Middle Division**

3<sup>rd</sup> – Liam Dineen (FPC)

2<sup>nd</sup> – Kyleigh Ruddy (ITMS)

#### **Senior Division**

4<sup>th</sup> – Melissa Yorio (FPC)

1<sup>st</sup> - Savannah Umpenhour (FPC) \*\*Invited to Internationals

## **Presentation of Action Plans**

#### Middle Division

4<sup>th</sup> – FPC Team D

3<sup>rd</sup> - FPC Team C

## **Senior Division**

6<sup>th</sup> - FPC Team I

5<sup>th</sup> – FPC Team C

4<sup>th</sup> – FPC Team L

2<sup>nd</sup> – FPC Team B

1<sup>st</sup> – FPC Team G

#### **Scenario Performance**

#### **Senior Division**

1<sup>st</sup> – Alexandra Feldman \*\*Invited to Internationals

3<sup>rd</sup> – Katya Martynuk \*\*Invited to Internationals